news archive


Public preview and Party Prix de Rome

On 25 October, at 6 pm a public preview of the Prix de Rome 2013 exhibition starts in de Appel arts centre in Amsterdam. From then on the public can get acquainted with the new work made by the four artists who have been nominated. During a five month work period Christian Friedrich, Falke Pisano, Remco Torenbosch and Ola Vasiljeva created work which will be assessed by the international jury.

The winner will be announced via live streaming at on 5 November at 4.00 pm. Directly after the announcement everybody is welcome at a festive event to celebrate the Prix de Rome.
The four selected artists, together with 45 other artists, were nominated by a wide group of scouts and then chosen by an international jury. Each artist presents very different but also subtly related interests and creates art which both inspires and challenges. The jury consists of Kathleen Bühler (curator at the Museum of Fine Arts Bern), Ann Goldstein (director at the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam), Nicoline van Harskamp (artist and winner of the Prix de Rome 2009), Navid Nuur (artist) and Domeniek Ruyters (editor in chief of Metropolis M). The chairman is Birgit Donker (director, Mondriaan Fund).
The Prix de Rome is the oldest and most prestigious award in the Netherlands for artists under the age of 40. The award dates back to 1808 when Louis Napoleon introduced the Prix de Rome in the Netherlands to promote the arts. Although the award adopted various guises over the years, the aim has always been to trace talented artists and promote their further development and visibility. The Mondriaan Fund has organised and funded the award since January 2013. The winner receives a prize of 40,000 Euros and a residency in Rome.
Opening hours of de Appel arts centre, Tuesday to Saturday from 12.00 to 8.00 p.m. and Sunday from 12.00 to 6.00 p.m.
Venue: Prins Hendrikkade 142 Amsterdam

25 October, 6.00 – 9.00 pm : public preview
5 Novembre, 4.00 : announcement winner (live streaming via
5 Novembre, 6.00 – 9.00 pm : party