news archive


Geneviève Lieuw, Marga Weimans and Rune Peitersen appointed to the Mondriaan Fund supervisory board

On 16 March 2020, Geneviève Lieuw became the new chairperson of the supervisory board of the Mondriaan Fund, the public fund for visual art and cultural heritage in the Netherlands. Marga Weimans and Rune Peitersen have also been appointed members of the supervisory board.

‘Bringing a wealth of background and experience, Geneviève Lieuw, Marga Weimans and Rune Peitersen are true assets for the Mondriaan Fund. With these three appointments, the broad, interdisciplinary and (inter)culturally sensitive perspective within the supervisory board is further reinforced and anchored,’ explains Rudi Ekkart, interim chairperson of the supervisory board.

Geneviève Lieuw (b. 1969) is a lawyer specialized in human rights. She is a member of the College for Human Rights in Utrecht and works as an independent consultant for international organizations, including the United Nations. At the College for Human Rights, her focus includes overseeing observance of the rights of women and LHBTiqa+. ‘It is an honour to be chairperson of the Mondriaan Fund supervisory board. Art and culture are the nourishment for everyone’s spirit. I hope to be able to contribute to that,’ says the newly appointed chairperson, Geneviève Lieuw.

Marga Weimans (b.1970) is an international fashion designer with her own fashion label based in Rotterdam. Weimans represents a generation of new makers who mix, bring together and innovate  disciplines. Rune Peitersen (b. 1971) has an international visual arts practice and teaches at the AKV|St. Joost Academy in Breda. Peitersen is founder and member of the board of directors of Platform BK and was instrumental in establishing guideline for artists’ fees.

The Mondriaan Fund operates on a supervisory board model, with a board of directors andsupervisory board. Together, the members of the supervisory board represent a rich knowledge of society, of the (international) field of visual arts and cultural heritage, of financial affairs, legal affairs  and corporate governance. The Mondriaan Fund supervisory board consists of seven members. Along with chairperson Lieuw, Weimans and Peitersen, they are Rudi Ekkart (interim chairperson of the supervisory board and former director of the Netherlands Institute for Art History or RKD in The Hague), Annerie Vreugdenhil (treasurer and chief innovation officer for ING Wholesale Banking), Hester Alberdingk Thijm (director AkzoNobel Art Foundation), and Noraly Beyer (journalist, author and actor).

At the end of their second and final terms of office, on 30 December 2019, both former chairperson Annelies van der Pauw and member Gijs Frieling stepped down from the Mondriaan Fund supervisory board. They served the Mondriaan Fund with great verve and engagement. The Mondriaan Fund extends them both our most heartfelt thanks.

The powers, obligations, working methods and organization of the Supervisory Board are described in the regulations published on the Mondriaan Fund website.