Prizes and awards

Johannes Vermeer Award

The Johannes Vermeer Award is the Dutch state prize for the arts and was established in 2008 by the Dutch government to encourage exceptional artistic talent. The organization of the award is in the hands of the 6 national culture funds (since 2021, formerly Boekmanstichting). The prize can be awarded to artists from all artistic disciplines working in the Netherlands: from dance to design, from fashion to music, from painting to writing.

The Johannes Vermeer Award is the Dutch state prize for the arts and consists of a sum of € 100,000. The winner can spend this sum on a special project within his or her field of work.

The Johannes Vermeer Award 2023 goes to mezzo-soprano Tania Kross. The jury has nominated her unanimously. Kross receives the award for her leading international singing career and the innovative way in which she makes opera widely accessible, and also for how she appeals to, connects and inspires a diverse audience. The State Prize for the Arts, established by the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, was presented on Monday, 20 November 2023 at Felix Meritis in Amsterdam by Gunay Uslu, State Secretary for Culture and Media.

This year, the jury consisted of Marise Voskens (chair), Margot Dijkgraaf, Afaina de Jong, Hicham Khalidi and Bas Kosters.

Former recipients

Former recipients of the award include Natasja Kensmil, Rineke Dijkstra, Ivo van Hove, Janine Jansen, Iris van Herpen, Steve McQueen, Michel van der Aa, Irma Boom, Rem Koolhaas, Marlene Dumas, Erwin Olaf, Alex van Warmerdam and Pierre Audi.

More information

Questions & contact

Questions about the Johannes Vermeer Award? Get in touch!

Noura Habbab

project manager activities Send a message Or call +31 (0)20 523 1509